I’m done with my end of posting exams, alhamdulillah.

 

I don’t know whether to feel relieved or sad; I love Medicine- but unlike the others, it’s a subject with no boundaries. It’s a jigsaw puzzle that could never be completed.

 

The kick one gets when the puzzles fit though, now that’s pure ecstasy.

 

20130529_224038_20130530224930219

 

The first thing I did was visit the bookstore, a luxury I indulged in only when exams are nowhere in sight. I could not recall ever leaving a bookstore with only one or two books in hand, that’s the problem.

 

Of course, there’s Flipkart. You could type in any title you want, not to mention the hefty discounts, and get them delivered to your doorstep. So who needs bookstores these days?

But I incline to disagree.

 

Everytime I walk into a bookstore, greeted by the sight of hundreds and hundreds of books lining the shelves, it always makes me think,

“Among these books, there has to be one that will change my life. I just have to find that book.”

 

The joy of browsing through each one, as if I have all the time in the world, is unbeatable. And when I stumble upon a book by an unfamiliar author, worn out and thumbed through, with amazing reviews, it feels as if I’ve struck gold.

 

 

20130530_170157_20130530225032676

After 6 long years, welcome back Mr. Hosseini  🙂

 

I know I said I’d only read this once my exams are over. Forgive me, I lied. I couldn’t resist. The day I finished my case presentation was the day I finished the last pages of this book.

 

You can’t blame me; I’d pre-ordered this back in April. Came May and this was the one thing I looked forward the most.

 

One must remember that no two stories are comparable. And The Mountains Echoed is still very Khaled Hosseini, but it’s not The Kite Runner; nor is it A Thousand Splendid Suns. I wouldn’t want to spoil it for you but all in all, it still makes a good read.

 

As I was making my way through the book, I was strongly reminded of Jhumpa Lahiri. Without doubt, these two are among the best writers I know who could seemingly paint each character’s emotions perfectly. Never mind the storyline, one could get engrossed just by the style of writing alone.

