Don’t worry, you’ll be seeing a lot more birthday posts.

 

It’s the birthday season (and a lot of them happen to be close friends of mine, so..).

 

DSC06169

Oh, you know them by now. Scroll down below. The only new addition is Pija 🙂

 

DSC06171

There’s something wrong with this picture. Nevermind, I’ll give you some time to figure it out.

 

DSC06174

 

DSC06175

 

DSC06187

 

DSC06189

 

DSC06198

 

DSC06218

 

DSC06220

 

DSC06222

HOMG. Vain!

 

DSC06224

 

DSC06279

The first time I made steamed red velvet I had to ask Mimi to alter the batter for me. The second time it was too salty (it’s the colouring’s fault pffft). And the 3rd time, success!! They say the 3rd time’s a charm  🙂

 

DSC06283

The birthday girl tadaaaaa! And Aida’s messy room tadaaa!

 

DSC06296

 

The thing with red velvet is this; don’t hold back on the colouring.

Red velvet is basically choc cake with less cocoa and cream cheese icing. Some recipes might add buttermilk and such, but that’s the principle. So to make a choc cake red in colour, you gotta chuck in a lot of colouring.

As for the topping, well. I was in a rush as I had to be somewhere so I put the second layer before it’d completely cooled down. It being a steamed cake (which means it has a softer texture), it cracked!!!! Omg I was basically hyperventilating. My cake never cracked before ok!

The supermarket had closed so I rushed to Aida’s house. She didn’t have any chocolate bar but she did have Oreo. So I crushed the biscuits and covered the cracks. Surprisingly it went well with the cake 😀

 

My god I could write an essay on this cake alone.

 

DSC06305

With Kepijaan!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

Ok, remember the question I asked in the second picture? It’s ok I’ll tell you the answer.

I WAS WEARING FLATS  T__T

Everyone else was wearing well, everything not heels, so out of respect for the birthday girl, I wore flats. This is my only pair btw *sighs*

