*EOP = end posting exam

Another one of my falsafah hidup. Feel free to use it, you’re welcome.

 

Anyway, assalammualaikum!

Fancy it being Ramadan again. It didn’t feel that long ago kan?? So hi Ramadan! Alhamdulillah, it’s nice seeing you again 😀

 

For the largest part of my life, Ramadan basically meant

OMG DAH NAK RAYA

The more days I fasted, the more duit raya I’d get. So yes, fasting was important! *$$$$*

 

But as I aged, slowly, Ramadan became a celebration of its own. Ramadhan becomes Blitz (please tell me you know this game. It’s soooo addictive!). You realised you only have more or less 30 days to do as much deeds as possible. And while 30 days seem a lot; tolak tidur, tolak pergi kelas, tolak lepak dengan kawan, tolak baca buku cerita, tolak duduk depan laptop…..

 

30 days are not enough, not really. Before you know it, it’s over. Come Raya and you’ll be wondering what you’ve achieved. Ok tipu *blushes* Come Raya and you’ll only think of Raya and nothing else.

But you really should. You really should.

 

“(Fasting) for a fixed number of days; but if any of you is ill, or on a journey, the prescribed number (Should be made up) from days later. For those who can do it (With hardship), is a ransom, the feeding of one that is indigent. But he that will give more, of his own free will,- it is better for him. And it is better for you that ye fast, if ye only knew”  [al-Baqarah, 2:184]

 

I read once that friendships and love mean changing. If at the end of those you haven’t changed that much, then it means you haven’t cared enough, haven’t loved enough.

I guess the same thing goes here. If by the end of this month we’re still that same person, then surely it means we haven’t done enough, have yet to grasp what Ramadan is all about.

But it’s never too late right? 😉

 

For me personally, I try to do things differently this year. It’s only day 13 (only??? already la!) but I will persist! InsyaAllah! *eyes blazing with determination*

 

DSC03290

For starter, I wake up for sahur *fireworks* FINALLY!!!! And by waking up it doesn’t mean getting all riled up by the annoying sound of alarm clock, take a sip of water, and continue sleeping (which is what I did last year LOL).

It means kicking off the comforter, going to the kitchen and fixing myself a meal. My choices of sahur are always simple (and healthy; ok you can barf now). Peanut butter and banana with wheat/multigrain bread or 3 eggs or a bowl of oat supplemented with nuts, raisins and dates. And lotsssss of plain water. 

Ok la kan that, not bad la kan.

 

Dari Abdullah bin Al-Harits dari seorang sahabat Rasululloh Shallallahu ‘alaihi wa sallam bahwa: Aku masuk menemui Nabi Shallallahu ‘alaihi wa sallam ketika itu beliau sedang makan sahur, beliau bersabda, yang artinya: “Sesungguhnya makan sahur adalah barakah yang Allah berikan kepada kalian, maka janganlah kalian tinggalkan’” (HR: Nasa’i 4/145 dan Ahmad 5/270)

 

My favourite park ever; Sankey Park, July 29, 6.25 pm (it has ducks and geese!)

Nowadays I run about 6 times a week, 1.5 hour for each session. With it being Ramadan, undoubtedly certain adjustments have to be made.

 

The ideal time to work out would either be right before iftar, or after iftar. Most of the time I go for a run before iftar, because soon after that my body would receive post-training nutrients, so yeah. For those doing cardio, it’s advisable to limit yourselves to twice a week, not more than an hour.  Coz an hour of cardio is equal to a day’s state of dehydration. So imagine that.

I , er, abide the not more than an hour rule, but not the former *coughs*

If twice a week only then the rest of the week I do what lah!

 

I did consider doing weights (since it’s less tiring) but I’ve yet to find a prospective gym, so…..

 

And lastly- ok so this has nothing to do with Ramadan at all:

 

DSC03294

 

I stumbled upon this book in a quaint book shop in Church Street. It won the South East Asia and  South Pacific Region 2003 Commonwealth Writer’s Prize and has been translated into 22 languages (yes, I copied this from the back of the book).

To top it off, it’s written by our very own Malaysian #proud

A story that brings us back to the Japanese occupation era, back when Malaya was more than just a page of history; the woes and misery of the people, woven together.

This is our inheritance; a Malaysian dynasty.

 

DSC03296

One down, four more to go (and another two pre-ordered)

 

Keluar tajuk a bit, but still, Salam Ramadhan peeps!

