For those who are new to my blog, hi there. I’m Nisa Sabri and I detest cooking.

 

I don’t just detest it- I hate cooking. I don’t mind spending hours (or at times, days) baking. But I’m not willing to sacrifice half an hour to make a plate of fried rice.

 

I’d rather starve. True story.

 

I eat out on week days, that goes without saying. During the weekends when I happen to stay at home however, now that could be quite a problem. Sure there are free food deliveries, and there’s Gokul restaurant downstairs but…..tu lah, I’m a lazy bum.

 

I expect food to drop down from the sky. Preferably with desserts, if God could spare me some.

Memang kwashiokor lah I like that  =_____=”

 

But alhamdulillah, I have super duper housemates and friends. And by super duper, I mean just that. The kind of people who constantly check up on me to find out whether I’ve eaten or not.

The kind of people who, upon receiving a message from me- “I’M STARVING WAAAA.” would come knocking on my doorstep with a container of food in hand.

The kind of people who, when hinted, “I teringin la makan ayam masak asam pedas you *prod prod*” would cook it for me the next day.

 

In fact, they’re so awesome that I need not cook at all during the fasting month last year (when you’re fasting for days continuously, you don’t feel like eating out) because they made sure I didn’t end up with a grumbling stomach at the end of each day.

 

You’d think those kind of people are extinct, and I’d have to agree with you- because most of them ended up in my life instead of yours haha! A part of me recognises this as His work; surrounding me with people who love to cook when I so detest it. I know that sounds petty but that’s what I feel.

 

Anyway, one day I asked one of these people,

“Why are you so nice??”

*I’m not a total parasite eh; they cook, I baked. I still have some conscience left tqvm.

 

DSC01529

There you go, my cute red velvet cupcakes

 

And the answer she gave was,

 

“I believe rezeki comes in all forms. Say, we get Rs 37,000 per month. It doesn’t mean all that is my rezeki and is for my use alone. God could have intended your portion of rezeki in my share so perhaps the things I’ve given you is actually yours. That’s your rezeki, only God gave it through me. Allah could have given my portion of rezeki through other people as well. And thus I don’t mind giving because it’s not mine in the first place.”

 

I was in awed upon hearing that. Because truly, that’s one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever heard in my life, masyaAllah.

 

And the other day I stumbled upon this ayat,

“Do they not see that Allah extends provision for whom He wills and restricts [it]? Indeed, in that are signs for a people who believe.”

30:37

 

So give the relative his right, as well as the needy and the traveler. That is best for those who desire the countenance of Allah , and it is they who will be the successful.”

30:38

 

So the next time you feel like sending food towards my way, don’t hesitate!!! And for those who never tire feeding my stomach of a cow, I love you guys!

