The day our last paper ended (community medicine, no less; suicidal mode yo), we set off for Hampi by bus at 11 pm.

 

Recognised as one of the UNESCO world heritage sites, it’s situated 7 hours from Bangalore.

 

DSC00626

Because I’ve never been in a sleeper-couch bus before, I was a bit excited and jakun.

And also claustrophobic. Which is why my face is all red  and bothered. Took me quite a while to settle down T___T

Oh, and do bring your own cushion and blanket.

 

DSC00632

Zie was kind enough to pack me home-made choc crepes!!!

 

DSC00634

And Donut Baker’s donuts. Sweet sangat zie, masyaAllah~

 

DSC00642

There’s even a small compartment for us to stack our shoes. Which is what the bus we went back in, despite being much more comfortable, lacked.

I had to fish my shoes from under the bed =_____=”

 

DSC00663

We arrived in Hospet at 6 am. From there, autos provided by our guest house were already waiting to take us for the 30-min journey to Hampi.

 

DSC00872

We stayed at Gopi’s Guest House. I shared a room with Mimi. For only Rs 1200 a night, you could get an air-conditioned room with an attached bathroom.

 

DSC00649

After washing up, we went to the rooftop restaurant for breakfast.

 

DSC00651

Unlike my friends, I could barely sleep on the bus T___T

 

DSC00660 

I ordered an English breakfast with milk tea.

Hampi serves only vegetarian food. Thank God for eggs. I love you, hens.

 

DSC00662

Sissy was rooted to this one spot because the reception was poor. Which is one of the reasons I decided to switch my phone off during the trip. No whatsapp, no FB. Bliss.

 

DSC00664

 

DSC00667

Spot the wild boar.

 

DSC00671

This would be the Ganesh Temple for the royalties. Reminds us of Pantheon in Rome doesn’t it?

When I inquired the tour guide further, he said the architecture in Hampi was mostly influenced by the Hindus, Muslims and Buddhists.

No Romans, boo.

 

DSC00677

This is Ganesh, the God of Success whose head resembles an elephant. He’s the son of Shiva, God of Destruction.

This temple however is no longer used because part of the statue had been disfigured by the Muslims when they conquered the Vijayanagara empire.

Another reason it was partially destroyed was because the Hindus usually kept jewelleries and priceless stones underneath these statues.

I love history, forgive me.

 

DSC00672

 

DSC00674

The Virupaksha temple, a form of Shiva.

Very Angkor Wat-ish eh?

 

DSC00682

This is another temple of Ganesh, only this one’s for the commoners. Go closer and you could see the Goddess Parvati  (mother to Ganesh and wife to Shiva) embracing Ganesh from behind.

This temple is also presently not in used as it had been disfigured as well.

 

DSC00681 

 

DSC00686

 

DSC00692

 

DSC00695

 

DSC00697

 

DSC00702

 

DSC00705

I forgot which God’s statue this was waaaa!! The only thing I remember is he’s surrounded by snakes for protection.

 

DSC00706

The symbol of Shiva is the 3 eyes. You could see it carved on the stones (if not, blame the sunlight). This is the first reincarnation of Shiva.

People come here to make wishes by tossing a coin. If it falls in the water, your wish isn’t granted boo. If it falls on the flat surface, worry not, that means your prayers are accepted.

I saw a couple of people wetting their heads with that water for blessings.

 

DSC00707

 

DSC00709

Because of the hot weather, coconut sellers and ice cream carts are everywhere in Hampi, especially around the temples and ruins.

 

DSC00710

I bought ice cream at every ice cream cart I saw. Panas!

 

DSC00715

This was at one of the Vijayanagar’s kings temple. Nothing much to see here really, just fungal growth and bat dungs.

 

boyband

Boy band poses ROFL.

