Being in Bangalore for over a year now changes me a lot I guess. This place teaches me to keep an open mind on all matters because nothing is impossible here. Literally. And not necessarily in a good way either.

 

 

DSC01522

 

 

DSC02679

 

 

Up till now, I’ve heard a lot of people complained about being here. I know most of them prefer studying in local universities rather than India. And that, irks me. A lot. Not so much on their complains but more on the fact that they’re medical students who’ve experienced living in India.

 

 

I’m not saying this place has no flaws. Yes, they are no factory outlets here. It’s tiring having to argue with the auto drivers everyday. People here litter and spit as they like. The traffic is horrible. Cows sit in the middle of the roads and one couldn’t walk without stepping on their poo.

 

 

DSC02684

 

 

Are those it? Or is it merely social stigma?

 

 

Me, I’m not saying I’m fine with those. Heck, I’m practically in tears whenever a beggar tugs on my clothes asking for money. But then, those are what make Bangalore, Bangalore. Get what I mean?

 

 

Personally, I like being here. I’ve wanted to go to India ever since I was in high school. My mum even laughed at me when I told her I wanted to visit India after SPM (seriously =_=). I didn’t know why. I just knew there were a lot of poor people in India and I wanted to see if I could pick a thing or two. It was never my intention to study here but by God’s will, that’s what happened. I probably missed out on factory outlets, boxing day and four seasons but what I get here is…well, incomparable.

 

 

India is without doubt, one of the backward countries. But heck, I’ve never seen people who are so determined in struggling to live. I’ve never seen anyone who’d do anything to earn a penny before.

 

Being here teaches me a lot on empathy and humanity. Surrounded constantly by poor people and seeing kids running on the pavement without even wearing slippers. Peeping into their houses and realising the toilet in Pratham is even bigger than their living rooms. Seeing them living in camps instead of proper houses. Those make me walk with my head down. They make me feel thankful of what I have, make me realised there’s a lot more to be done. They make me to want to help.

 

What I’ll be able to learn from them will not only shape me into a good doctor, but also as a person. The lessons are worth a lifetime.

 

 

DSC01530

 

 

 

DSC01728

 

 

In a way, I need them, not the other way around. Thus, I don’t feel I have the right to complain.

 

 

It annoys me to the max when someone said, “Eeh. Diorang ni busuk la.”

Hello, were you born as an Indian in India, you would probably bear the same scent. And you wouldn’t think you’re smelly either.

 

 

And to think people who said it were medical students. It’s like they’re saying they won’t ever ever ever work in rural areas or treat poor people! Are you gonna clamped your nose when dealing with your patients in the future? Not likely. We Malaysians do not have higher positions nor are these people lower than us.

 

 

I have yet to hear doctors who studied in Europe earned more in Malaysia than those who study in local universities. Nor did I hear anything about doctors from local unis being unemployed. Doctors are doctors. They’re all the same. I don’t mind getting a stamped certificate saying I graduated in Malaysia and not India. As long as I have the skills and as long as no patient of mine is going to say, “Bodoh ah doktor tu. Baik tak yah jadi doktor.”, I’m fine with it.

 

 

I’m just saying, if you’re given a lemon, make a lemonade out of it ^_^

