I’ve been tea-phobic as long as I could remember.

 

It started when I was in primary school. My younger siblings liked drinking cold tea so my maid would put a jug of it in the refrigerator.

One day, I happened to take a sip of this cold tea and, ptuik ptuik ptuik, it tasted horrible. So horrible that even when I tried to get rid of it by eating and drinking other stuff, the taste wouldn’t go away. 

 

Ever since that day, I was traumatised.

 

Here in India though, my housemates like making tea during dinner. I couldn’t decline it every night and say, “Sorry, but I don’t drink tea,” could I? That would be impolite since they took the trouble making it.

 

So I started drinking tea and hey, it’s not that horrible after all. I began to actually like it.

 

DSC03005

Is there Lipton in India?

 

Last night, I made my first cup. After drinking it, I felt calm. I even felt happy. Ah, all the effects of tea I’d downrightly ignored all these years!

Being underslept these last couple of days, I decided to take an early night so I wouldn’t feel sleepy during lectures the next day. By 12.44 pm, I was already in bed.

 

I tossed and I turned. I couldn’t sleep. Tea effect?

 

Deciding what a complete waste of time it was, I abandoned trying to sleep and opened my books instead, thinking if everything failed, then studying would definitely send me right to sleepville.

 

I ended up dozing off at 5 am.

 

When my alarm rang at 6.40 am, I couldn’t wake up. Plus, I figured there’s no point going to the lectures if I was just gonna end up sleeping in the auditorium. Might as well sleep at home comfortably and save the energy to study later.

Before my housemates left, I told them,

 

“I’ll go to class sometime later.”

 

Having missed the lectures, I had no intention of missing practical and dissection as well.

 

At 10 am, I woke up, took my bath, ironed my t-shirt, arranged the books for today’s schedule and had breakfast.

 

I put on my sneakers and was all set to go to class. I clicked the lock opened and pulled the door’s knob.

 

DSC02999

 

The door didn’t budge.

Oh, no wonder. I forgot to open the other lock. Click click.

I pulled.

 

The door still didn’t budge.

To my dismay, I realised my housemates must had bolted the door from the outside (there’s another bolt-liked locked on the outside) before they left.

 

Not good. Not good at all.

 

I tried banging on the door, hoping someone passing by would be thoughtful enough to help me.

Didn’t work.

 

I started racking my brain. What could I do? Could I call the DK (our apartment’s guard?) ? Does he have a cellphone?

I just needed someone to slide the bolt open for me. One simple act. The idea that I couldn’t go to class because I was locked inside the house was completely absurd!

 

Could I climb out the windows?

 

DSC03000

Living room’s windows. Barred.

 

DSC03006

Bedroom’s windows. Barred.

 

All the windows in my house are barred.

 

What is wrong with these people??

 

Then it strucked me; the balcony!

 

DSC02997

 

Even the balcony is barred!!

 

GAH!

 

After 15 minutes of thinking and coming up with no solution, I gave up.

 

I’m locked in the house and I missed one whole day of classes.

 

Cheers.

