My parents never asked me to buy groceries or run errands for them. This is because……

 

THEY DIDN’T TRUST ME TO *sob sob*

 

To do them justice, I don’t trust myself either. But ever since I came here, there are lots of things I have to convince myself to do.

One of them is going to the market. When 

I never even touched raw fish or chicken or meat in my life.

I always avoid the wet section in supermarkets.

 

Dugaan.

 

Nisa pergi pasar

The ideal place to buy wet groceries here would be Yeshwantpur because the stuff there are madly cheap. Even I who never knew the price of anything think they’re cheap, so they must be right?

 

The rules of going there are:

1. Don’t bother to take a bath before going – checked

2. Wear a tracksuit and t-shirt – checked

3. Don’t wear nice shoes – unchecked. I wore my white Nike shoes.

 

Comments received upon bumping into other Malaysian students:

“Amboi, cantiknye kasutttt.”

“Nisa, ni bukan Garuda Mall ok.”

“Kenape tak pakai slipper je?? Nanti kotor!”

People, my love for my feet is a million times more than my love for my shoes. Enof said.

 

Armed with my digicam, I looked more like a tourist rather than the supposed mak cik pergi pasar.

 

DSC01697

Dried chillies

 

DSC01702 

The arrangement of daun sirih caught my attention

 

DSC01710

 

DSC01703

 

DSC01701

The veggies and what-not were so fresh and pretty and cheap that even a veggie hater like me felt like buying everything. You know, “For Display Only” purposes.

 

DSC01722

Some used antic scales.

 

DSC01705

Some used electronic scales.

 

DSC01712

Kambing yang gemok. I want one!

 

DSC01717 

Took a picture to delay going inside this fish lane.

 

DSC01719

 

DSC01718

The SMELL, huish. Huishhhhhh

 

DSC01716 

The STATE, huishhh. Huishhhhh

 

DSC01720

Bye bye chickens

 

DSC01724

At the end of the errand, shoes were still sparklingly white ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

Had I been living alone, I would rather order delivery everyday than going there. But hey, it was a brand new experience ๐Ÿ™‚

 

P.S: Am considering of being a vegetarian already. But then, I’d probably die of starvation. So yeah, that’s not gonna work.

